Successful Great Idea

Standard

Happy new year. Yes, I’m writing here again as part of my new year plan. I’ll be covering the arts in Altadena and Pasadena (and elsewhere no doubt) over on http://Altadenaaboveitall.com

Here’s where I’ll talk about anything I choose as my interests are many. And check out my blog on politics and photography, Polipics, at www.digiphotomag.com.

Thought I’d pick  up this blog again with a post from Jimmy Wales, founder of Wikipedia.

http://wikimediafoundation.org/wiki/Appeal/en?utm_source=2009_Jimmy_Appeal9&utm_medium=sitenotice&utm_campaign=fundraiser2009&target=Appeal

I’m impressed that Americans have heeded the call and are supporting such a worthy endeavor as Wales envisioned: “Imagine a world in which every single person on the planet has free access to the sum of all human knowledge.”

And, in  contrast to what some people believe, I recall that recently a study that found Wikipedia’s entries exceedingly accurate. Damn fine contribution to the world.

About writerdeb

With a name like writerdeb it's pretty obvious what I do. But I also love photography and am having a great time participating in gallery shows and writing on politics and photography for www.digiphotomag.com. I've written more than 1,900 articles for magazines, newspapers, trade journals and websites. I currently work in communications/fundraising for Caltech, know every inch of L.A., love to travel, am married, and having a blast! And if you've got a writing or photo project, please contact me to see if we can work together! Check my website www.debbiswanson.com and portfolio in progress at www.photodeb.viewbook.com

2 responses »

  1. You recall a recent study that found Wikipedia’s entries exceedingly accurate? Are you referring to this one, that found Wikipedia’s articles about U.S. senators to be deliberately wrong for 6.8% of the time?

    http://www.mywikibiz.com/Wikipedia_Vandalism_Study

    It’s sad to see another blogger duped by the Wikimedia Foundation’s call for revenues. Maybe if they’d stop spending only 34 cents of every dollar on the actual program services, they wouldn’t need so much additional money to pad their bogus headquarters operation that used to run just fine with a staff of 6.

    • You’re right. There are a lot of studies on various aspects of Wikipedia with equally varying accuracy results. So let’s ask this: How often have you found inaccuracies?

Leave a Reply

