Five Things You Don’t Know About Me

Standard

I’ve been tagged by that rascal of the web who’s been redoing my site, Susan Kitchens, to spill the beans on this subject. So here goes…

1. I met Charles Lindbergh when I was little. My dad was a United Air Lines pilot and he had a friend named Bud Gurney. Lindbergh was at his house and Dad drove me over there to meet him. I don’t remember much except the ride over, from our house in Woodland Hills to the Gurneys near Hayvenhurst in Encino. I later met Bud’s son through journalism school at CSUN, I believe. We went out on one date and that was the end of that.

2. I’ve been a car nut all my life. Cried when we sold our Plymouth Fury when I was 4. My first car was a 1930 Austin America named Sunshine. Had 32 coats of laquer, Cragar mag wheels and tuck ‘n roll upholstery. But with only 27 hp, it was clear I needed a real car to get around in. So I snapped up an adorable mustard yellow 1969 Fiat 850 Spyder for $650. While going to CSUN, I experienced an 850 Spyder convergence. As I approached the stop sign at Etiwanda, so did not one, not two, not three, but four other 850 Spyders. Not another car near that intersection — just us 5 Spyders, and four were yellow, one was blue. Strange.

3. I have had an amazing life and am grateful for every moment of it. Yes, major tragedies and pain, but amazing blessings and joy that far outweigh the sad. Like the fact that I’m a newlywed at 51. Ok, it’s my second time as a newlywed, but it’s much more fun this time around, married to a space engineer with a huge heart and great sense of humor. He needs it with me!

4. I’m writing my memoir, slowly, and in fits and starts, but I’m writing it!

5. Richard Simmons said to me as I arrived to interview him for a story in Dramalogue, “My, what a great chest you have.” “So I’ve been told, ” I replied. We had a great afternoon and interview about a musical he was planning called Pounds that never happened. Jule Styne was involved. And Richard sang to me in his kitchen, before spilling Hawaiian Punch soda (diet of course) on my $100 blouse. (It came out.) As I left he gave me a sweatshirt that says, “Fork Off.” I still have it.

About writerphotodeb

With a name like writerphotodeb it's pretty obvious what I do. I've written more than 2,000 articles for magazines, newspapers, trade journals and websites. But I've developed my artistic interests and am having a great time participating in gallery shows, creating personalized fine art and photographing clients. Please visit www.tellingimages.com or www.debbiswansonpatrick.com and drop me a line.

Leave a Reply

